

Student Government Association

Sam Houston State University

A member of The Texas State University System



- ★ Box 2476 ★ Huntsville, Texas 77340 ★ ★ 936-294-1938 ★ SGA@shsu.edu ★

Resolution F-23-04 Kappa Mu 50th Anniversary Recognition

Author: Director Brad Williams

Sponsor: Vice-President Jared Scott and	
Chief of Staff Nicole Ivory	
Date: October 31, 2023	
Date: October 51, 2025	
Whereas:	The Sam Houston State University Student Government Association acts as the "Official Voice of the Student Body"; and,
Whereas:	Sam Houston State University (SHSU) Student Government Association recognizes the foundation and
	charter of the Kappa Mu Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Incorporated, chartered on the campus
	of Sam Houston State University April 27th, 1973;
	or Sam Houston State Oniversity April 27, 1775,
Whereas:	The Student Government Association recognizes the accomplishments built upon its charter members: Sellestine Collins, Carol Marshall, Margie Nell See, Lavernia Bradberry, LaSandra Harris, Shirley McMurray, Dorthy Sidney, Malinda Walker, Harriet Brown, Sharon Jackson, Mattie Scales, and Jaquline Smith.
Whereas:	Student Government Association commemorates The Kappa Mu Chapter for engaging in sisterhood, empowering your community, and elevating their impact. Recently displaying this at their HIV & Aids Awareness Walk on the campus of Sam Houston State University (SHSU).
Whereas:	We, The Student Government Association of Sam Houston State University (SHSU) Acknowledge and support the Sorority's motto "Intelligence is the Torch of Wisdom",
Whereas:	We, The Student Government Association of Sam Houston State University (SHSU), Acknowledge and
	support the sorority's principles "Sisterhood, Scholarship, Service and Social Action"; and,
Be it resolved:	We, The Student Government Association of Sam Houston State University (SHSU), congratulate the Kappa Mu Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and all accomplishments spanning over the organizations 50-year history;
Be it finally resolved:	Copies of this resolution will be sent to The Kappa Mu Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Primary Advisor Terry Murray, Dean of Students Chelsea Smith, Assistant Dean of Students Victoria White, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs Drew Miller, The Houstonian, Channel 7 News and Student Body President Veronica Calderon.
Veronica Calderon President	Piper Cheng Secretary

The Official Voice of the Student Body